Well I guess it’s about time that I tell you about this book. I did mention it on my blogging series which you can check out here. And I was planning on getting to do a book review on The Catcher in the Rye, so here it is.

I finished the book on the 30th of December 2015. It was written by J.D Salinger who died at the age of 91 in 2010. J.D Salinger’s most popular work has to be the The Catcher in the Rye which was published in 1951. The story focuses on a rather normal teenager in New York, Holden Caulfield aged 16. As I started the book, I thought he was just a character that J.D Salinger invented, but as I began to learn more about the author I saw a very large representation of his character in Holden Caulfield.

the_catcher_in_the_rye_by_edwardaaronart-d5y1c9v

In a way, it’s very painful to talk about the book because I guess it means that much to me. I’m not trying to be cliche. I really do hold great respect towards the writer and what he was trying to convey. I was reminded of how easily innocence can be destroyed and how Holden Caulfield expressed that with his sister Phoebe, the ducks in Central Park during wintertime, his friend Jane Gallagher but mostly himself. Clinging onto purity and originality seemed to be a big deal for him.

8tbiLsp94dP3QR7Hkt5s7t2w

But the reason why it pains me the most to talk about this book is because it is so genuine. Especially the ending of the twenty-fifth chapter where Holden is watching his sister Phoebe on the carousel as it is raining. And he doesn’t mind the rain at all because he feels and knows that at last he is content with the way things are.

0f7a882a083c76d12890758ca34f6ef0

He talks about the struggles of being in a thriving society, feeling the social pressures of conforming to their social standards. And all throughout the book, this amusing Holden Caulfield takes you all around New York City, a city in his mind drowning in all the artificial things of the world. His contempt for the phoniness of some people, his desire not to just have to like someone but want to respect them.

dd1b56b4ef7f3712d331595832b5199a

When it comes to beautiful things, I’m not so articulate. The beauty is so overpowering that I can’t really manage to fit it into words. But all I know is that it’s probably one of the best literary works I’ve ever read and probably will ever read.

carousel

-themeekarestillhere

Email: roxysarah56@gmail.com

Like, comment and subscribe?

