On the very last day of the four-day long weekend, we decided that we were not going to sit at home, watching movies online, and let this state-wide holiday slip by us. So as usual, we headed to the countryside, a little place, well it’s quite big, called Ballarat with a large history.



When I first went to Ballarat, which was probably when I was six years old; so tiny that the memories are vague but lingering, clinging in my head. I recall the sheeting rain, the squishy mud underneath my feet and the wonderful gold shop. I remember walking in there, feeling overwhelmed and comforted, looking at a variety of bejewelled adornments and settling on a beautiful cross adorned with a few gems and crystal-like stones. Beautiful. We took it home and hung it on the wall…however, I can’t remember where it is today.

During the 1850’s, there was a severe gold rush in Ballarat which excited many Victorians and other Australians all over the nation. Ballarat gradually transitioned from a rural town to an industrialised, reputed and growing town that would eventually be remembered to all Australians with pride.

 Today many people visit Ballarat, schools often organise excursions for students who are learning about Australian history. On the holidays, the gold destination is a hotspot for family and friends, and there are also the random visitors all with different intentions; who respect the significance and vast history of this place. But with growing technology and a salad of different nations occupying the town, it has changed the ‘gold rush’ feel of the 1850’s.

 Like I said, yesterday I was able to go Ballarat on a humid afternoon, and of course our travels wouldn’t be complete without food. We settled on an Indian restaurant and devoured butter naan with butter chicken and tandoori chicken as an entree. I can officially say that, it is one of the best restaurants I’ve ever been to.

-themeekarestillhere

Email: roxysarah56@gmail.com

Like, comment and subscribe?

